Diversity Advisory Links & Resources


Important Documents

Civil Rights Act of 1866
ABSTRACT:The Civil Rights Act of 1866, a.k.a section 1981 is a piece of United States legislation that gave further rights to the freed slaves after the end of the American Civil War.

Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964
ABSTRACT: Title VII prohibits discrimination in hiring, promotion, discharge, pay, fringe benefits, job training, classification, referral, and other aspects of employment, on the basis of race, color, religion, sex or national origin.

Equal Pay Act of 1963
ABSTRACT: The Equal Pay Act of 1963 (EPA) prohibits wage discrimination between men and women in substantially equal jobs within the same establishment.

The Age Discrimination in Employment Act of 1967
ABSTRACT: The ADEA protects certain applicants and employees 40 years of age and older from discrimination on the basis of age in hiring, promotion, discharge, compensation, or terms, conditions or privileges of employment.

The Rehabilitation Act of 1973 Sections 501 and 505
ABSTRACT: Section 501 prohibits employment discrimination against individuals with disabilities in the federal sector. Section 505 contains provisions governing remedies and attorney's fees under Section 501.

The Americans with Disabilities Act
ABSTRACT:The Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) is a wide-ranging civil rights law that prohibits discrimination based on disability.

The Civil Rights Act of 1991
ABSTRACT:The Civil Rights Act of 1991 includes provisions meant to reduce illegal discrimination in employment decisions. Enacted November 21, 1991, the new law applies to all employers who have 15 or more employees in each of 20 or more calendar weeks per year.

Management Directive 715 (EEO MD-715)
ABSTRACT:The EEOC's Management Directive provides policy guidance and standards for establishing and maintaining effective affirmative programs of equal employment opportunity.

Management Directive 110 (EEO MD-110)
ABSTRACT: The EEOC’s Management Directive, issued October 22, 1992, outlines the Commission’s policies, procedures, and guidance relating to the processing of federal employment discrimination complaints.

Notification And Federal Employee Antidiscrimination And Retaliation Act Of 2002 (NO FEAR Act)
The NO FEAR Act requires that Federal agencies be accountable for violations of antidiscrimination and whistleblower protection laws. This Act also requires that each Federal agency post quarterly on its public Web site certain statistical data relating to Federal sector equal employment opportunity complaints filed with such agency.

ABSTRACT: Executive Order 11246 protects employees of covered Federal contractors and subcontractors from employment discrimination because of race, color, religion, sex and national origin. The Executive Order also requires that certain employers take affirmative action to ensure that all qualified applicants and employees receive equal employment opportunity.

29 CFR Part 1614
ABSTRACT: These regulations cover the U.S. federal sector and are designed to encourage equal employment opportunities.

Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) of 1993
ABSTRACT: Covered employers must grant an eligible employee up to a total of 12 workweeks of unpaid leave during any 12-month period for one or more of the acceptable reasons.

* Important Information: Please note that the majority of the links on this page are in pdf format, which requires you to have Adobe Acrobat to read the files. If you do not have an Adobe Acrobat reader or you are not sure, please click here to obtain a free download.

Back to Top